Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


20 Republicans voted against McCarthy on third ballot for Speaker

U.S. House Republican leader Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) is surrounded by reporters after a House Republican caucus meeting on the first day of the 118th Congress at the U.S. Capitol in Washington, U.S., January 3, 2023. REUTERS/Evelyn Hockstein

Twenty GOP lawmakers voted against Rep. Kevin McCarthy in the third round of voting for Speaker.

Rep. Byron Donalds joined the 19 GOP lawmakers who voted against McCarthy in the first two rounds.

Jordan has said he does not want the job and nominated McCarthy in the second round.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

These are the 20 lawmakers:
Rep. Andy Biggs
Rep. Dan Bishop
Rep. Lauren Boebert
Rep. Josh Brecheen
Rep. Michael Cloud
Rep. Andrew Clyde
Rep. Eli Crane
Rep. Byron Donalds
Rep. Matt Gaetz
Rep. Bob Good
Rep. Paul Gosar
Rep. Andy Harris
Rep. Anna Paulina Luna
Rep. Mary Miller
Ralph Norman
Rep. Andy Ogles
Rep. Scott Perry
Rep. Matt Rosendale
Rep. Chip Roy
Rep. Keith Self

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


Less than a day after voters in multiple states rebuked GOP leaders who would restrict abortion rights, five Republicans running for president ignored the...


The House voted 234-188 to censure Rep. Rashida Tlaib, Democrat Michigan, over her remarks related to Israel and Palestinians. Twenty-two Democrats joined Republicans in...


Chris Christie, Republican presidential candidate, said Tuesday that any Republican who is “overconfident” about beating President Joe Biden in 2024 is “a foolish Republican,”...


Democrat Cherelle Parker will be elected the 100th mayor of Philadelphia, becoming the first woman to lead the city. Parker entered the general election...

Copyright © 2018-2023 The African Press